French Bread

I tried a new recipe yesterday for French Bread.  I will cut the sugar down next time to what I have it at below in the recipe.  I will also try and put in some whole wheat.  It made some great garlic bread and french toast.  (print recipe)

French bread

2 1/2 cups warm water

1 Tablespoon yeast

1/4 cup sugar

2 teaspoons salt

about 6 cups all-purpose flour

Mix the warm water, yeast, and sugar in a large bowl.  Once it has bubbled up, mix in the salt and flour.  I used my kitchen aid mixer and let it knead it.  It will be sticky, and I think I ended up using about 7 cups or so of flour.  Let the dough rise until doubled.  Punch the dough down and divide it in two.

Roll each ball into a large rectangle (the length of your sprayed baking sheet).  Starting at the long edge, roll each rectangle into a long loaf.  Pinch all seams good, and place, seam side down on your cookie sheet.  Cover and let rise until your loaf is the desired shape.  Slash the top of the bread in 4 places and then bake in a 375º oven.  I did start mine out at a higher temp and then lowered the temp after about 10 minutes. 

