Dried Onions

We can’t store all the onions over the winter, so I started drying them and use them in soups, casseroles, or even grind it into onion powder. 

Start by peeling your onions.  You want to make sure you peel that layer that would be tough if you just peeled and diced it up for fresh cooking. 

Peeled onions

Once I think I have enough to fill the dehydrator, I set up my meat slicer.  This makes the slicing go fast and I can have uniform slices.  I slice the onions up.

Sliced onions

I spread the sliced onions on my dehydrator trays.  I will leave them as they are sliced.  Some do fall apart.

On the trays

Plug in the dehydrator and let them dry.  Depending on how thick the slices are, it could take close to 18 hours or so.  I left these ones in overnight.  I also plugged the dehydrator in out in the shop.

Dried onions

4 responses

  1. Your dried onions look good.

  2. Do you just chop them after they are dried and use them like you would dried minced onion you can buy in the spice section??

    How do you use them once they are dried, just curious, I don’t use alot of dried minced onion but am looking for ways to grow and preserve more of my own in order to save money!!

    Any tips advice would be greatly appreciated!!!
    Thanks Cheryl!!

    Dana

    1. Holcombhappenings

      Dana,

      I store them in slices (as they were dried). You can use them a few ways. I will sometimes just crumble them to use like minced onions. Most times, I put the in the blender and turn them into powder and use as onion powder. That way you can flavor things, without having the onions pieces (if someone doesn’t like onions).

      I have tried this with garlic, but I didn’t have any luck with it. It is cheap enough that I just buy it. I do dry sage as well. We love sage and use it almost every week.

      I hope that helps. If you have any more questions, please feel free to email me.

      ~Cheryl

  3. Thanks Cheryl!!
    I bet it would work great in soup mixes like those Soup in a jar mixes!! I sometimes give those out for Christmas gifts.

    I want to grow more of my own herbs and dry them for later as well!!
    We LOVE sage and use it quite a bit!!

    I can’t thank you enough for being so helpful!! I am not new to housekeeping but alot of what I want to do is new to me because my family didn’t do alot of it when I was growing up. I mean sure we gardened and canned but mostly only canned tomatoes and green beans, everything else is new to me, so I am on my own because no one else ever did any of it. I am the frugal one, and the old timey one in the family, even though I am only 34 *grin*!! I really appreciate your help, I hope you know that!!
    Have a great day!!
    Dana

