Apple Crisp Pie

I found this recipe on the internet, and of course, I changed it some.  I like to use more brown sugar in an apple pie than white sugar.  {print recipe}

Apple Crisp Pie

6 cups apples, sliced thin

3 Tablespoons lemon juice

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup melted butter

4 Tablespoons cornstarch

2 teaspoons cinnamon

1/8 teaspoon nutmeg

1 double pie crust recipe

Topping:

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup sugar

6 tablespoons butter, softened

1/4 cup oats

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Peel, core, and slice your apples.  Toss them with the lemon juice.  Add the sugars, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cornstarch.  Lightly toss and then add the melted butter.  Gently stir and then fill the pie crust.

For the topping, combine the flour and sugar.  Cut in the butter until crumbly.  Stir in the oats and walnuts.  Sprinkle on top of the pie.  Bake at 375º for 45 – 60 minutes, or until the apples are done.  You might need to cover with foil after 30 minutes or so.

4 responses

  1. This looks delicious! Apple pie is my favorite 🙂

    1. Holcombhappenings

      This one was really good. I think it is my favorite apple pie recipe now.

      Have a wonderful day.

      ~Cheryl

  2. It looks so good!

    1. Holcombhappenings

      I really liked this pie. Have a wonderful day.

      ~Cheryl

