Roasted Peppers

One year we had a lot of bell peppers.  I had heard about roasted peppers and wondered what to do.  My parents had been up here before going on to Colorado.  They happened to stop by a stand or something and the family was roasting peppers.  My mom called me and told me what they did.  We use a weed burner torch, but you can also use a small propane torch.  I use to freeze them, but I wanted to can them so I did some research and this is what I came up with.  If you can peppers, you really should roast them.  When you roast them the tough skin is burnt off. I canned them one year without roasting them and we had a lot of tough skin in the jar.

Wash your peppers and set up your work area.  I took an oven grate and set it up on some cinder blocks. 

This is the fun part.  Roast your peppers until they are black.  You will need to turn them and do the other sides.  You will start to hear some crackles and the peppers will start to blister and then turn black.  Once they are black on all sides, put them in a pot with a lid on them.  Let them set for 20 minutes or so.

There were a few spots that did not get black all they way, or they black had come off already.  The reason for letting them set is the black will come off easier. I have a strainer in my sink to catch all this black skin.  I wash them off under running cold water.  The black for the most part just comes right off.

Put them in a bowl until you have them all done. 

Then you want to cut the tops off and take the seeds out.  Please wear gloves when handling these peppers after they are roasted if you are using hot peppers. 

After I cut the top off I slit it in half.  I cut or pulled the membrane off and then dipped the pepper in a bowl of water to get most of the seeds off.  I then cut them into strips and then diced them up.  At this point you could freeze them as well.  Just put as much as you would use at one time in a container or bag.

I diced my peppers up and put them into some 1/2 pints.  I added 1/2 teaspoon salt and then some water.  I left 1/2 inch head space and then we pressure canned them for 35 minutes at 15 pounds of pressure (we are above 2,000 feet, so I pressure can everything at 15 pounds). 

2 responses

  1. Wow, these sure look good. I want to remember to try this next year. All our peppers are just about gone. A few now and then to eat is all thats left. God bless.

    1. Holcombhappenings

      They are really good. Several years ago we did them just with the bell peppers.

      ~Cheryl

