Zucchini Muffins

This morning I tried a recipe from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe for zucchini bread.  I made a couple of changes and then I baked them as muffins instead of bread.  I will be making these again. {print recipe}

Zucchini Muffins

1 1/2 cups shredded zucchini

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon allspice

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 eggs

1/4 cup sour cream

1 Tablespoon lemon juice

6 Tablespoons olive oil

Spray your muffin pans.  I made 18 with this recipe.

Cut the ends off the zucchini and grate it.  Lay your shredded zucchini in a clean dish towel and roll it up and then twist it to get any extra liquid out.  Measure out 1 1/2 cups zucchini and set aside.

In a large bowl, mix together the sugar, sour cream, eggs, and lemon juice.  Gently stir in the zucchini.  Sift together the dry ingredients and gently mix in until moistened.  I did add about 1/2 cup or so of chocolate chips just before it was all mixed together.

Bake at 375º until lightly browned and a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

2 responses

  1. Great idea to make the bread into muffins! These look great!

    1. Holcombhappenings

      It was really good. I want to make more and put in the freezer, if I can get them past my family.

      ~Cheryl

