Norwegian Coffee Cake

My parents had this recipe.  {print recipe}

Norwegian coffee cake

1/2 cup butter

1 cup flour

4 Tablespoons cold water

Cut the butter into the flour.  Add the water and mix like a pie crust.  Spread on an 11 x 14 inch jelly roll pan with the heel of you hand, finger tips, or a pizza crust roller until the pan is covered.

First layer

1 cup water

1/2 cup butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup flour

3 eggs

Bring the water, butter, and vanilla to a boil.  Remove from heat.  Stir in the flour all at once.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each one.  Spread on the first layer.

2nd layer

Bake at 400º for 45 minutes.  I did cover it with foil so it wouldn’t get too dark.

Done baking

Frost with a powdered sugar frosting and sprinkle with sliced almonds.  I realized I put a little too much frosting, and I scraped some off.

Frosted and sprinkled with almonds

