Pineapple Cranberry Muffins

I got this recipe from Easy everyday eats this morning.  I used olive oil instead of butter, and lemon zest instead of orange zest.  We will make these again.  {print recipe}

Cranberry Pineapple Muffins

2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup sugar

1 cup buttermilk

6 Tablespoons olive oil

1 egg

2 teaspoons lemon zest

1 can crushed pineapple, drained (reserve juice)

1 cup cranberries

Preheat the oven to 375º.  Spray your muffin pan.  I got 12 muffins from this recipe.

In a large bowl, whisk together your flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar.  In a medium bowl, mix together the buttermilk, olive oil, egg, and lemon zest.  Add this to the flour mixture just until mixed.  Add in the pineapple and cranberries.  I thought that the batter was too thick, so I added the pineapple juice to the batter.  Divide the batter evenly into the muffin pan (they will be full).  Bake for 16-19 minutes.

If you don’t use the pineapple juice in the batter, mix 4 – 5 tablespoons of it with some powdered sugar and use as a glaze over the muffins.  I used a little bit of milk with some powdered sugar and used that as a glaze. 

One response

  1. Yum! I love muffins :O)

    *Christi jo*

