Sweet and Sour Chicken

I got this recipe from The Family Homestead. I really didn’t change it too much.  I diced my onions instead of thin strips.  I only used 16 ounces of pineapple (some that I canned last year).  {print recipe}

Sweet and Sour Chicken

2 cups of cooked chicken

1 Tablespoon olive oil

3 stalks of celery, sliced

1 onion, diced

3/4 bell pepper, sliced and cut in thirds

1 20 ounce can pineapple chunks, drained and save the juice

1/3 cup apple cider vinegar

1/4 cup honey

2 Tablespoons soy sauce

2 Tablespoon cornstarch

In a large skillet, heat up the oil.  Add the celery, green pepper, and onion.  Cook until the vegetables are tender.  Add the chicken and heat this up on low. 

Meanwhile, take the drained pineapple juice and add water if necessary to make one cup of liquid.  In a small bowl, mix the pineapple juice, vinegar, honey, soy sauce, and cornstarch.  Add this mixture to the chicken and vegetable mixture.  Cook on medium heat, stirring until the sauce is thick.  Add the pineapple and then serve over hot cooked rice. 

