Pickled Asparagus

I had plenty of asparagus in the freezer one year, so I thought I would try pickling some asparagus to serve with salads.  I used the same pickling recipe that I do for dilly beans. {print recipe}

Pickled Asparagus

About 2 pounds or so of fresh asparagus

1/4 cup canning salt (I use regular salt)

2 1/2 cups apple cider vinegar

2 1/2 cups water

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper, divided

4 cloves garlic

4 Head of dill, or 2 tablespoons of dill seed

Measure the vinegar, water, and salt  into a pot and bring it to a boil.  Wash and cut up your asparagus into 1 1/2 inch pieces or so.  Put in your clean, sterilized jars.    Add a garlic clove to each jar along with 1 head of dill (or 1 1/2 teaspoons of dill seed), and 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper.  Cover with the hot brine leaving a 1/4 inch head space.  Process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes.

2 responses

  1. this is a great recipe Cheryl,I have been so looking for one as I had some pickled Asparagus awhile back in a drink when we had when out and even though it was a garnish I loved it and ate them all up. I have been looking ever since for a good recipe for them.
    Thanks again.

    1. Holcombhappenings

      My family really likes it. I don’t care for pickled things, but they all do so I make it. They were excited to see me make more yesterday.

      Have a wonderful day.

      ~Cheryl

