Beef Stew

I make this beef stew using soup bones that we get from the butcher. 

Soup bones with beef on them

water

onions

carrots

celery

potatoes

peas

1 quart diced tomatoes

salt and pepper to taste

This is a recipe I don’t really have specific amounts.  I usually use what we have on hand, and what we like.  I start out by putting the soup bones and water to cover them in my crock pot and cook them most of the day.  Take the soups bones out and let them cool enough to pick the meat off.  Strain the beef broth into a dutch oven.

Add the remaining ingredients except the peas.  Bring to a boil and let the potatoes and carrots cook.  When they are almost tender, season to taste and add the peas.  Cook for about 5 more minutes or so.  Thicken with corn starch or flour if desired.

2 responses

  1. Sounds good! My husband likes big chunks of meat in his stew and I use a beef stew season mix to flavor it. He likes all of those same veggies :O)

    *Christi jo*

    1. Holcombhappenings

      I have found that the jar of tomatoes adds a lot of the flavor that my stews were lacking. Have a great day.

      ~Cheryl

