Beef Enchiladas

Beef Enchiladas

I got this recipe from Tasty Kitchen/Pioneer Woman.  I did make changes to account for what we have on hand. {print recipe}

Sauce ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon flour

3 cans tomato sauce (10 ounces each)

1 Tablespoon taco seasoning

2 cups chicken broth

salt and pepper to taste

Meat:

2 pounds ground beef

1 whole onion, finely diced

1 can diced green chilies

salt to taste

Corn tortillas

cheddar cheese, grated

For the sauce, combine the flour and oil and whisk together to make a paste.  Pour in the remaining sauce ingredients and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer about 30-45 minutes.

While the sauce is simmering, brown the meat with onions in a skillet.  Drain off the fat and stir in the diced green chilies and season with salt. 

Here is where I did things a little different in the assembling of the enchiladas.  I sprayed a cookie sheet and then put some enchilada sauce on the cookie sheet to cover the bottom of the pan.  I heated the corn tortillas on the comal and then dipped them in the enchilada sauce.  I sprinkled some cheese on the tortillas, put some meat on it and then rolled it up.  I placed them seam side down and then continued until the tortillas were gone.  I spread the leftover sauce on top of the enchiladas and then sprinkled with cheese. 

Bake at 350º for 20 minutes or until bubbly.

One response

  1. […] wanted Enchiladas for supper as today was Cinco De Mayo.  I made some Beef Enchiladas, Mexican rice, refried beans, and corn for supper.  While those finished cooking, Harold got the […]

