Sticky Buns

I was in the mood for something different this morning for breakfast.  I didn’t want to spend a lot of time making breakfast.  I have made these several times. {print recipe}

Sticky buns

I started with my basic biscuit recipe.  I did not have enough whole wheat flour, so I used some white flour in these.

2 cups white flour

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour

4 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 1/2 teaspoon salt

12 Tablespoons butter

1 1/2 cups buttermilk

butter

brown sugar

cinnamon

Heat oven to 425º.  Start by putting about 1/2 teaspoon of butter in each muffin cup.  Put the muffin pan in the oven so that the butter melts.  Pull out of the oven once it is melted and add about 1 teaspoon of brown sugar to each cup.

Butter and brown sugar in muffin cups.

Mix up the biscuit dough as you normally would and then pat out into a rectangular shape, about 1/2 inch thick or so.  Spread a little bit of melted butter on top and then sprinkle with cinnamon and brown sugar.

Ready to roll up

Roll up the dough as you would cinnamon rolls and then cut into pieces.  Place each piece in the muffin cups and then bake for 12-15 minutes.

Ready to bake

Once they are done, flip your sticky buns out onto some foil.

One response

  1. […] morning I mixed up some sticky buns for breakfast.  Today I spent time waiting on RaeAnne to finish her research paper so that we […]

