Baked Beef Taquitos

I got this recipe from For the Love of Cooking blog.  As usual, I have changed the recipe some.  I started with some leftover beef roast that I had in the freezer.  I took that out this morning and put it in the crock pot with about 3/4 cup of water.  I did add 1 can of diced green chilies and then spices.  I added some dried minced onions, season salt, garlic powder, cumin, cayenne pepper and some Mrs. Dash Garlic and Herbs seasoning.  I cooked this most of the morning and then shredded the beef.  I did need to add a little more water as it was getting to dry. {print recipe}

Shredded beef mixture

I took some corn tortillas that I had in the freezer and thawed them.  I don’t have a microwave, so I had to figure out a way to heat up the tortillas.  I took my comal and heated that up.  I heated the corn tortillas on both sides and they were nice and soft, ready to be filled up and rolled up.

Heating the tortillas up.

I had a mixture of three different cheeses grated up, Cheddar Chipotle, Cheddar, and Monterey Jack.  I sprinkled a little bit of cheese on the tortilla.

Cheese

Next I put some meat on top of the cheese.

Shredded beef

Roll the tortilla up and put on a sprayed cookie sheet (or 9 x 13 inch pan).

Ready to bake

Bake at 425º for 5-6 minutes and then flip and continue baking for another 5-6 minutes.

Baked shredded beef taquitos

I served these with Tomatillo salsa.  You could serve with sour cream and guacamole.

One response

  1. […] evening for supper we fixed baked beef taquitos, Mexican Rice, and corn.  Emily did the rice for me and she did a great […]

