Poor Man’s Steak

I found a recipe for this several years ago and the kids all enjoyed it.  I haven’t made it in a long time.  I lost the recipe, so I had to improvise this afternoon.  It turned out very good. {print recipe}

Poor Man’s Steak

2 pounds ground beef

3/4 cup panko crumbs

1/2 teaspoon Mrs. Dash Garlic and Herb seasoning

1 teaspoon dried minced onions

2 eggs

dash of pepper

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 mushrooms

2 stalks celery

2 cans of cream of mushroom soup (or cream soup mixture)

Patties

Combine the ground beef, panko crumbs, seasonings, and eggs.  Mix well and shape into patties (I got 11 patties).  Heat up a skillet and spray with cooking spray if your meat is really lean.  Brown the patties on both sides for a few minutes and then put in a sprayed roaster pan.

Browned patties

Cut up the celery and mushrooms into bite size pieces.  I sauted the celery and mushrooms in the skillet and then put them on top of the browned meat patties.

Celery and Mushrooms

Combine your two cans of cream of mushroom soup, or mix up your own, and pour over the patties.  Cover your pan with foil and bake at 350º for 35-40 minutes.

Cream soup mixture

2 responses

  1. This is one of my husband’s favorites! I make it about once a year becaue of the fat content but it is so yummy! I need to buy some low fat cream of soup just for this recipe.
    Thank you for sharing and this is some different from the copy I have.
    Susan

    1. Holcombhappenings

      We do like it. I like using the cream soup mix as I have all the ingredients on hand.

      Have a wonderful day.

      ~Cheryl

