Whole Wheat Buttermilk Biscuits

I think that my favorite breakfast food has always been biscuits.  Since we have made the switch to whole wheat, I have been experimenting with making biscuits.  We finally found something that we like.  One day I didn’t have any whole wheat ground, and we wanted to eat quickly.  I do keep some white flour on hand for the tortillas (they roll out better with some white flour in them).  I made some biscuits out of the white flour, and none of us really liked them anymore.  We like the whole wheat better. {print recipe}

Buttermilk biscuits

1 cup whole wheat pastry flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 Tablespoon sugar (optional)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

3/4 teaspoon salt

6 Tablespoons butter

3/4 cup buttermilk

Combine the dry ingredients and mix them up a little.  Cut in the butter with a pastry blender.  Add the buttermilk and stir/mix until just combined.  Pat out about 1 inch thick and cut with a biscuit cutter or cup.  Place in cast iron skillet and bake at 425º until tops are golden brown.

