Graham Cracker Cake

This is something I remember my parents making.  My brother reminded me of it when I called him for his birthday.  He and my older sister usually requests this for their birthday desserts.  It is very simple, and has only four ingredients.

Graham cracker cake

Graham crackers

applesauce

1 small box of jello

cool whip, thawed

Start out by thawing your cool whip.  You don’t want to stir it to thaw it.  Mix the powdered jello in with the applesauce.  I would say about 1 – 1 1/2 cups of applesauce per box of jello.  Lay a graham cracker on a plate.  Spool some applesauce mixture on top and top with another graham cracker.  Repeat layers as many as you want.  Top with a graham cracker and then frost with the cool whip.  Set in the refrigerator for at least an hour.  You want the graham crackers to absorb some of the applesauce so that they are soft.

5 responses

  1. I have never heard of doing it this way. I have had it with pudding pie filling before though. I will have to try this way out. What flavor jello do you use for it? Hope your brother had a great b-day 🙂

    1. Holcombhappenings

      I bet the pudding would be very good also. I used raspberry jello. I have seen recipes where people use different flavors on different layers.

      Have a great evening.

      ~Cheryl

      1. Can you tell me the exact like how much would I need for a 11X13 cake pan?? Thanks

        1. Holcombhappenings

          Sorry it took so long to get back to you. I am not sure how many it would take. What I showed in the picture I took one box of graham crackers and use two of the individual packs in it. I used two cups of applesauce and two small packages of jello. A small container of cool whip should frost the cake.

          My guess would be to buy two boxes of graham crackers and then a big jar of applesauce.

          Hope that helps.

          ~Cheryl

