Fried/Baked Chicken

I really like fried chicken, but I know that it isn’t so good for you.  I am not sure where I found this recipe.  I like how you brown the chicken and then transfer it to a baking sheet and bake it in the oven. I can remember visiting my great-aunt and uncle’s farm and she made the best fried chicken.  It seemed like she would use all the pans and pots in her kitchen to make a fried chicken meal. {print recipe}

1 chicken, cut up and skinned (if desired)

1 egg

1/2 cup milk

1 cup flour

2 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon sage

1 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

2 teaspoons season salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

Mix the egg and milk together in a bowl.  In a skillet, add some oil and a couple of tablespoons of butter.  Heat that up while you mix the dry ingredients together in another bowl.  Dip the chicken in the egg mixture and then the flour mixture.  Brown the chicken in the oil.  Flip the chicken over and brown on the other side.  Transfer to an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake in a 375º oven until chicken is done.

I drain most of the oil from the pan and add some flour and seasonings.  Slowly add in milk while stirring to make some milk gravy.

