Mexican Rice

I tried a new recipe tonight to go with our baked beef taquitos.  I got this recipe for Mexican Rice from the internet.  It is one that I will make again.  I am writing the recipe for how I did it.  I made adjustments for what we had on hand. {print recipe}

Mexican Rice

1/2 quart diced tomatoes, undrained

1/2 white onion

1/2 bell pepper, diced

2 cups rice

1/3 cup olive oil

1 teaspoon garlic powder

2 cups chicken broth

1/2 teaspoon cumin

Turn oven on the 350º and place rack in the middle of the oven.  Put the canned tomatoes and onion in the blender and puree.  You want 2 cups of this tomato puree.

Put the rice in a fine mesh strainer and rinse under cold running water until the water runs clear.  Shake the rice to remove excess water.  Heat the oil in the bottom of a dutch oven.  Add the rice and saute for about 5 minutes or so until the rice is golden brown.  Add the pepper and garlic powder and saute for another couple of minutes.  Stir in the broth and tomato puree.  Bring to a boil.  Put your tight-fitting lid on the dutch oven and then put in the oven to bake.  You will want to stir it after 15 minutes or so.  Cook until the liquid is absorbed.

3 responses

  1. […] recipe called for corn tortillas, but we used the flour tortillas.  I also tried a new recipe for Mexican rice.  It turned out very good.  RaeAnne peeled and cubed a butternut squash and then we roasted that […]

  2. […] He had to pick up another thing from the auto part store.  We came home and I mixed up some Mexican Rice and got that in the oven.  Josie mixed up some Ranch dressing mix and Emily cut up some cabbage.  […]

  3. […] the Cabbage and Rice casserole instead.  I decided to go ahead and do that.  I used the leftover Mexican rice from last night and mixed up the casserole.  Emily mixed up some Ranch salad dressing and RaeAnne […]

