Asian Chicken Egg Rolls

We tried another new recipe tonight, and it is definitely a keeper.  I got the recipe from Mel’s Kitchen Cafe, and as usual, changed it to what I had on hand and what we would use. {print recipe}

Chicken and cabbage mixture

I took a whole chicken and put it in the crock pot this morning.  We used about half of the meat in this recipe, maybe a little bit more.  We shredded the meat and then added the following ingredients to the chicken.

1 Tablespoon soy sauce

1 1/2 Tablespoons rice vinegar

2 teaspoons corn starch

1 Tablespoon oil

We heated that up in the pan and then set that aside in a bowl.  To the same pan, we added more olive oil and heated that up.  I had the following ingredients prepared and ready to go into the pan.

 

Asian Chicken Egg Rolls

1 big mushroom, diced

1/2 red pepper, diced

1/2 onion, diced

1 zucchini, grated

1 carrot, grated

4 cups, shredded cabbage

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1 Tablespoon soy sauce

2 Tablespoons hoisin sauce

1 package egg roll wrappers

Saute the mushrooms, onions, peppers, carrots, and zucchini for a couple of minutes.  Add the cabbage, soy sauce, and chicken.  Cook, stirring often until the cabbage is slightly wilted (about three minutes or so).  Stir in the hoisin sauce and turn off the heat.  Put some meat/cabbage mixture on an egg roll wrapper and roll up.  I did spray the top with some cooking spray before I baked them.  We baked them at 400º for 20-25 minutes.  I did flip them half way through the baking time.

7 responses

  1. […] I liked the filling from one recipe, but I wanted to use egg roll wrappers.  We will be making the Asian Chicken Egg Rolls again.  I also took some of the leftover rice from this weekend and made some fried rice.  I […]

  2. […] of them in the freezer.  My mom helped me make supper.  We used some leftover turkey and made the Asian chicken egg rolls.  We also made my rice pilaf recipe.  We cooked some green beans and also served some canned […]

  3. […] our menu around as I wasn’t going to be home to cook the black beans today.  I made some Asian Pork egg rolls for supper.  I started to make them when I realized I had no cabbage left.  Emily and I went into […]

  4. I’ve never made egg rolls, but always wanted to try them. This looks like a great recipe!

    1. Holcombhappenings

      These are very good. The Hoisan sauce makes all the difference.

      Have a great day.

      ~Cheryl

  5. those look delish! I have been craving homemade egg rolls for awhile now, maybe after Thanksgiving I will make a batch.

    1. Holcombhappenings

      They are really good. I have made them with turkey and pork as well.

      Have a wonderful day.

      ~Cheryl

