Basic Wholegrain Waffles

This is another recipe from the Whole Foods for the Whole Family cookbook that I have.  I like how light these waffles are.  In the cook book they list a couple of measurements for some of the ingredients.  This is what I do.  For our family, I will double this recipe and this gives us a few to freeze for later breakfasts.

Waffles

2 eggs, separated

1 1/2 cups milk

1/4 cup olive oil

2 Tablespoons brown sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups whole wheat flour

Beat egg whites until stiff.  In a large bowl, beat yolks with milk.  Add the remaining ingredients, beating after each addition.  Fold in the beaten egg whites.  Pour into lightly greased, pre-heated waffle iron and bake until golden brown.

6 responses

  1. […] morning I made some waffles for the girls breakfast.  I did two loads of laundry and had them hung up outside by 10:00.  I […]

  2. […] had our normal scrambled eggs with sausage in it instead of bacon.  I also made a double batch of waffles.  We also had pears and grape juice.  After breakfast, Josie cleaned the bathrooms.  I helped […]

  3. […] girls were up by 8:00 to go feed the babies.  I made some waffles for our breakfast.  Emily did some practice tests for the ACT.  RaeAnne washed up dishes as that […]

  4. […] after Harold left for work.  He took the green van to test the transmission.  I mixed up some whole grain waffles for breakfast.  I sliced up the last of the strawberries and then we all sat down to breakfast.  […]

  5. rebecca closson

    Cheryl I got a waffle iron for Christmas. Decided to try it this morning went straight to your blog for a recipe. I wasn’t dissapointed…….great recipe!

    1. Holcombhappenings

      I like that recipe. Even with 100% whole wheat they are very light and tasty.

      have a great day.

      ~Cheryl

