Crock pot Lentil Soup

I got this recipe from Tasty Kitchen.  For the most part, I followed the recipe as written.  I did eliminate the thyme (I just don’t care for the taste).  I forgot to add the vinegar, but it did say optional.

2 cups lentils

2 cups carrots, sliced

2 cups celery, sliced

2 cups onions, diced

5 cloves of garlic, minced (I did use garlic powder)

1 teaspoon dried basil

1 teaspoon dried oregano

1/2 teaspoon thyme

2 whole bay leaves

7 cups of chicken broth

3 cups water

1 quart diced tomatoes, undrained

Fresh parsley (I did use about 1 teaspoon dried)

White vinegar (optional)

Rinse lentils and place in crock pot with everything else, except for the vinegar and fresh parsley.  Cover and cook on low for 12 hours, or on high for 6 hours.  Discard bay leaf and then add parsley and vinegar if desired.

One response

  1. […] ground me some wheat today and I made some Soft Italian Bread sticks for supper with our lentil soup.  After Harold got home we ate supper and then the girls and I went to church.  We had a good […]

