Cabbage Casserole

I got this recipe from a blog friend.  She really didn’t have exact measurements for this, but it sounded very good.

Cabbage casserole

1 pound ground beef

2 medium onions, diced

2 ribs celery, sliced

1 bell pepper, diced

2 mushrooms, sliced

4 carrots, sliced

4 – 6 potatoes, peeled and chunked into bite size pieces

1 zucchini, cubed

cabbage, chunked into bite size pieces

salt, pepper, and seasoning, to taste.

I browned my ground beef, onions, celery, peppers, and mushrooms.  After that was browned, I added everything together into a bowl and stirred it up.  I put it in a sprayed roaster pan and covered it with foil.  I baked it in the oven at 375º for about 45 minutes, until everything was tender.

6 responses

  1. […] tonight.  It doesn’t have a name, but I got the recipe from a blog friend.  I called it cabbage casserole on my recipe blog.  It was very good and we will definitely make it again.  It has cabbage, […]

  2. […] helped me with supper tonight.  We had cabbage casserole tonight.  I used canned potatoes in it and it turned out very good.  I need to start using more […]

  3. Have you ever had sauerkraut balls? Your casserole reminded me of it. To make the balls, you lightly brown shredded ham and fine chopped onion in a pan. Add enough flour and milk to make pastey. Add sauerkraut.Let cool enough to handle, roll into small balls, roll in egg then seasoned bread crumbs. Deep fry (I know not healthy, but really good!) you can reheat leftovers. All these ingredients you can layer and bake for a casserole dish too.
    Yummy!

    1. Holcombhappenings

      I haven’t made them. Harold is the only one that likes sauerkraut. I imagine you could do that with plain cabbage.

      ~Cheryl

  4. […] was doing that, I started on supper.  Josie asked what I was making, and I told her I was making cabbage casserole.  She requested that I make the Cabbage and Rice casserole instead.  I decided to go ahead and do […]

  5. […] helped me with supper.  We had cabbage casserole.  This time we added some butternut squash to it.  It turned out really good.  I also mixed up a […]

