Bread

Soft Wrap Bread

I got this recipe from this website.  I changed a couple of things.  I did not have potato flour or potato buds on hand, so I used 1/2 cup plain mashed potatoes.  I also added one Tablespoon of vinegar as I was using all whole wheat.

Soft Wrap Bread

3 to 3 1/4 cups (12 3/4 to 13 3/4 ounces) unbleached all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups (12 ounces) boiling water
1/4 cup (1 1/2 ounces) potato flour OR 1/2 cup (5/8 ounces) potato buds or flakes (I used potato flakes)
1 1/4 teaspoons salt
2 tablespoons (7/8 ounce) vegetable oil
1 teaspoon instant yeast

Place 2 cups of the flour into a bowl.   Pour the boiling water over the flour, and stir until smooth. Lightly cover the bowl and set the mixture aside for 30 minutes.

In a separate bowl, stir together the mashed potato, 1 cup of the remaining flour with the salt, oil and yeast. Add this to the slightly cooled flour/water mixture, stir, then knead for several minutes to form a soft dough.  Let the dough rise, covered, for 1 hour.

Divide the dough into 8 – 10 pieces, cover, and let rest for 15 to 30 minutes. Roll each piece into a circle, and cook them on a cast iron skillet, until they’re puffed and flecked with brown spots. Adjust the heat if they seem to be cooking either too quickly, or too slowly.   I flattened mine with a tortilla press and then finished rolling them out with a rolling pin.  The recipe calls to leave them flat.  I went ahead and folded them so that they would be ready to eat.

One thought on “Soft Wrap Bread

Comments are closed.