Slow Cooker Lasagna

I can’t remember where I got this recipe.  Maybe from a Taste of Home magazine.  I never liked making lasagna until I tried this one.  I did adjust this recipe to use what I can from our garden as much as possible.

1/2 bell pepper, diced

1 onion, diced

2 ribs of celery, sliced

1 pound ground beef

2 cloves garlic, minced

3 six ounce cans of tomato paste

1 quart diced tomatoes, undrained

tomato juice, I don’t use a full quart

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon dried oregano

8 ounces lasagna noodles, uncooked

4 cups mozzarella cheese, grated

1 1/2 cup small curd cottage cheese

1/2 cup parmesan cheese, grated

In a skillet, cook beef, onion, pepper, celery, and garlic over  medium heat until meat is no longer pink; drain.  Add the tomato paste, tomatoes, salt, oregano, and enough tomato juice to make the sauce the consistency that you like.  Mix well and spread 1/4 of the sauce in the bottom of a lightly greased crock pot.  Arrange a third of the noodles over the sauce (breaking the noodles if necessary).  Combine the cheeses; spoon a third of the mixture over the noodles.  Repeat layers twice.  Top with remaining sauce and cover.  Cook on low for 4-5 hours, or until noodles are tender.

One response

  1. […] The girls fed the goats before breakfast.  They seemed to do fine in their new home.  I put a lasagna together in the crock pot.  By the time we came home from church, the lasagna was done.  We had […]

