Traditional Roll Dough

I got this recipe from the Betty Crocker Cook Book I got for my wedding.  The only things that I do different is to add the vinegar since I started using only whole wheat flour and I have been using all water also as RaeAnne needs to stay away from milk.  If you want to use milk, replace half the water with milk. {print recipe}

 

Crescent Rolls

3 1/2 to 3 3/4 cups flour

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup olive oil

1 teaspoon salt

1 Tablespoon yeast

1 cup very warm water (120º)

1 egg

1 Tablespoon vinegar

Dissolve the yeast in water with the sugar.  Once that has set for a while, add remaining ingredients and only enough flour to make a soft dough.  Knead for about 5 minutes or so.  Place in greased bowl and let rise until doubled.  Punch down dough and cut or roll as desired.  Place on greased cookie sheet and let rise until doubled.  Bake at 400º for 12-18 minutes, or until golden brown.

6 responses

  1. […] today.  The girls spent the afternoon down at the ditch in and around the shack.  I mixed up some crescent rolls for supper.  Emily cut up some cabbage for a salad.  After the dishes were done, RaeAnne and I […]

  2. […] on school.  We cooked the turkey bones down and made some turkey soup for lunch.  I mixed up some crescent rolls.  I worked with RaeAnne on her […]

  3. […] two bottles a day.  I went through the downstairs and vacuumed and picked up.  I mixed up some crescent rolls for supper.  RaeAnne made the beef pot pie.  She did a great job, as usual on it.  Emily helped […]

  4. […] made some baked beans with the white beans.  I ground up some wheat so that I could mix up some roll dough.  I shaped them into hamburger buns.  I started to slice up the onions for the baked onion […]

  5. These rolls look good..God Bless

    1. Holcombhappenings

      They are a nice roll that can be used different ways.

      Have a great day.

      ~Cheryl

