Split Pea Soup

This is a recipe that I kind of guess at the measurements.  I can remember having pea soup as a child.  My parents use to have this cook top that had a deep well in it.  They would cook the pea soup in that deep well and it turned out really good.  I can also remember cutting a backpacking trip short and my parents took us to the Andersen’s Pea Soup Restaurant. {print recipe}

Pea soup cooking on the cook stove.

3 cups of dried split peas

1 large onion diced

4-5 carrots, peeled and sliced

1 cup diced ham

1 teaspoon oregano

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon onion powder

1 teaspoon chicken bouillon

2 quarts water or more

Saute the onion in a little olive oil.  While those are sauteing, rinse the split peas in running water.  Let the peas drain.  Add the ham to the onions and saute the onions and ham for another minute or two.  Add the peas and seasonings and water.  Bring to a boil and let it gently simmer, stirring occasionally.  After an hour or so add the sliced carrots.  Continue simmering for another hour or two.  You may need to add more water if you don’t like it really thick.  I let this simmer most of the afternoon on my cook stove today.

One response

  1. […] After breakfast we spent some time cleaning the house and doing Saturday chores.  I got some pea soup going on the cook stove and let it cook all day.  The girls spent a lot of time doing a movie they […]

