Hershey’s Brownies

I got this recipe from a friend of mine.  We really like these brownies.

3/4 cup baking cocoa (I use 1/2 cup)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2/3 cup oil

1/2 cup boiling water

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 cups sugar

2 eggs

1 1/3 cups flour

1 teaspoon vanilla

Stir cocoa and baking soda in a mixing bowl.  Blend in 1/3 cup of the oil.  Add boiling water and stir until thick.  Stir in sugar, eggs, and remaining oil.  Add flour, vanilla, and salt.  Pour into a lightly greased 9 x 13 inch pan and bake at 350º for 35-40 minutes.  Frost with your favorite frosting, if desired.

3 responses

  1. […] made some brownies for a dessert today.  The girls spent the afternoon down at the ditch in and around the shack.  I […]

  2. Yummy! I wonder if that’s the same recipe on the box.. I like the idea of frosting the brownies… God Bless

    1. Holcombhappenings

      I am not sure. It could be. I got the recipe from a friend.

      The frosting doesn’t have to be real thick.

      Have a great day.

      ~Cheryl

