Gingersnap Cookies

I got this recipe from the Taste of Joy blog.  I think it is a new favorite in our house.

Gingersnaps

2 cups sugar

1 1/2 cups olive oil*

1/2 cup molasses

2 eggs

4 cups flour

4 teaspoons baking soda

1 Tablespoon ginger

1 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons cinnamon

Mix all ingredients together.  Roll into 1 inch balls and roll in sugar.  Place on ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 350º for 10 – 12 minutes.

* I think next time I will cut the oil down.  The dough was a little greasy to me as I rolled them in my hands.

6 responses

  1. If i don’t have olive oil do you think I could use veg. oil, butter, or crisco instead?

    1. Holcombhappenings

      Cary Ann,

      I would use it. I just use the olive oil as it isn’t dairy, so RaeAnne can have them.

      ~Cheryl

  2. I have mine in the oven. Hope they turn out well. I agree completely on the oil thing. It had WAY to much in them. I had to add another cup of flour just so i could handle it. I’m thinking maybe 3/4 cup next time, what do you think? I had to rename my cookies cinnamon/nutmeg cookies as I was out of ginger..LOL 🙂 I’ll tell you later how they turned out 🙂

  3. They turned out great and we all really liked them! I will certainly be making these again 🙂

  4. I am going to make these tomorrow for the weekend (if they last that lnog)

    1. Holcombhappenings

      I would cut the oil down to at least one cup.

      ~Cheryl

