Cabbage Stew

When I first started making this I followed a recipe and then developed it into my own recipe.  I don’t have exact measurements.

Cabbage Stew

1/2 pound of ground beef or ground sausage

1 onion, diced

bell peppers, diced

1 – 2 ribs of celery, diced

3-4 potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/2 inch pieces

3-4 carrots, peeled and sliced

8 cups cabbage, cut up

1 quart diced canned tomatoes.

Tomato juice

seasonings and salt and pepper to taste

Brown your ground beef or sausage with the onions, celery, and peppers.  Drain and add the remaining ingredients.  Only add as much tomato juice as needed.  Simmer until potatoes are carrots are cooked.

2 responses

  1. […] so.  I ground some wheat and made some bread for supper.  Emily and Josie helped me put together cabbage stew.  As we are running out of potatoes, I am going to start using my canned potatoes in soups.  […]

  2. […] got the cabbage stew going and then mixed up the cornbread.  Emily and RaeAnne went out to bury the goat, Lightening.  […]

