Spaghetti Sauce

I got this recipe from the cook book Whole Foods for the Whole Family.  This is a La Leche League International Cookbook.  A friend of mine gave me this cook book.  We really enjoy this sauce.    The recipe I have listed below is half of the recipe in the cook book and I have made a few changes to use what I have canned or put up in the freezer.

2 Tablespoons olive oil

1 onion, chopped

1/2 bell pepper, diced

2 stalks of celery, diced

4 oz fresh mushrooms, or 1 small can of mushroom pieces

6 cloves of garlic, minced

1 pound ground beef

1 quart diced tomatoes, undrained

12 ounces tomato paste

3 cups tomato juice

1 Tablespoon oregano

2 teaspoons basil

1-2 medium bay leaves

1 teaspoon salt

Pour the oil in a pan and saute the onions, peppers, celery, garlic, and mushrooms.  Remove mixture to a bowl and brown the meat in the same pan.  Add the sauted vegetables back in along with everything else.  Bring to a boil and reduce heat and simmer, uncovered, about 1 hour.  Serve over noodles.

The original recipe calls to take about a cup of sauce and add 1 Tablespoon of flour.  Stir it back in to the sauce and cook a few minutes more to thicken it.  I don’t do this as I just add less tomato juice as I make the sauce.

 

 

2 responses

  1. […] off to work and then we started our day.  The girls worked on their school.  I was busy making spaghetti sauce.  We were providing the spaghetti for our dinner at church that evening.  We were not sure how […]

  2. […] milk, and crackers.  I mixed up some cornmeal rolls for supper.  RaeAnne mixed up a batch of spaghetti sauce to use in the Tortellini soup.  While we were busy inside, Harold and the girls were busy […]

