Buttermilk Chocolate Cake

We got this recipe off of the internet.  {print recipe}

2 cups flour

2 cups sugar

3/4 cup cocoa

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 eggs

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup buttermilk

1 cup oil

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

1 cup boiling water

1. Preheat oven to 300ºF (this is a slow bake chocolate cake recipe)

2. Grease and flour a 9 in x 13 inch baking dish

3. Place all the ingredients into a mixing bowl and mix at medium speed until all the ingredients are blended and smooth.

4. Pour into the greased and floured pan and bake for 1 hour, or until done.

5. Frost as desired with your favorite frosting.

8 responses

  1. Oh yummy so good one of my favorites… My son loves these also.. Blessings sisterbrenda

  2. I’ve had this same recipe for about a year now and it is THE best ever! I get requests for it all the time! My one son who doesn’t like chocolate cake loves this one! I don’t waste my time with any other cake! By mistake, I left out the baking soda once and it ended up to be the best, gooey brownies ever! Glad you posted it for everyone to enjoy! Add bonus: it is SOOO easy! 🙂

  3. YUM- -this looks like a keeper! I’ll have to print this one out! 🙂

    Thanks-
    Lisa

  4. this one will surly be added to my recipes. Thanks for sharing it.

  5. sounds so good. I will give this a try.

    Sarah

  6. Yummy! Anything chocolate, and I am there!

  7. This looks good! I’ve been looking for a good chocolate cake recipe 🙂

    1. Holcombhappenings

      That one is really good. Very similar to another one we use to bake. The other cake has coffee instead of boiling water and milk instead of buttermilk. We got to where the coffee with the chocolate was keeping us up at night, no matter when we ate it, so I switched to this one. It is a nice, moist cake.

      Have a great day.

      ~Cheryl

