Sage Dressing

I got this recipe from Taste of Home years ago.  We like sage, so we really like this dressing.

1/2 pound bulk pork sausage

1 medium onion, chopped

2 celery ribs, chopped

1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms

6 cups cubed day-old bread

1/2 cup turkey broth

1/4 cup butter, melted

1 egg

2 teaspoons rubbed sage

1/4 cup fresh minced parsley

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

In a large skillet over medium heat, cook the sausage, onion, celery, and mushrooms until meat is no longer pink; drain if necessary.  In a large bowl, combine the remaining ingredients; add sausage mixture and toss to coat.

Transfer to a greased 11 in x 7 in baking dish.  Cover and bake at 350º for 30 minutes.  Uncover; bake 10 – 15 minutes longer or until lightly browned.

4 responses

  1. I love sage! I enjoy the Taste of Home cookbooks and magazines. They always have some great recipes. Is this the dressing that you make for Holidays at your house?

    1. Ann,
      This is the recipe we use on Thanksgiving.

      ~Cheryl

  2. sounds great! We grow our sage and I dry it for the pantry but also use it fresh from March till November. I will try your recipe the next time we have a meat bird.

  3. This sounds very much like what my girls and I make, minus the sausage & mushrooms–it is yummmmy!

    Lisa

