Chocolate Chip Cookies

This is the Toll House chocolate chip cookie recipe.  I have this recipe card in my recipe box with my grandpa’s writing on it.   Lately I have been replacing half the butter with applesauce or apple butter.  It makes the cookies more like a cake type cookie, but we like it.  I also have cut the sugar down by 1/4 – 1/2 cup.

Chocolate chip cookies.

2 1/4 cup sifted flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup butter

3/4 cup white sugar

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon water

2 eggs

1 cup chocolate chips

1/2 cup chopped nuts

Blend your butter, sugars, vanilla, and water.  Beat in the eggs and add flour mixture.  Stir in 1 cup chocolate chips and 1/2 cup nuts (if desired).  Bake on lightly greased cookie sheet at 375º for 10 – 12 minutes.

2 responses

  1. good idea with the apple butter. I use toll house choc. chips as I got a great deal on some. I will have to give this one a try.

  2. Thanks for your idea on the apple butter! I just canned all mine this morning and was thinking of different uses for it! My family will be extremely happy with this use!!!

