Hamburger Buns

I got this recipe from an old cookbook that was put out by Fleischmann’s.  Since I have started using whole wheat, the only thing I changed was to add 2 Tablespoons of vinegar with the butter.  Also, as RaeAnne has a dairy allergy, I do not use milk.

5 3/4 to 6 3/4 cup unsifted flour

1/3 cup instant nonfat dry milk powder

1/4 cup sugar

1 Tablespoon salt

2 Tablespoons yeast

1/3 cup softened butter (or use olive oil)

2 cups very warm water (120º – 130º)

Dissolve yeast in water water with the sugar.  Once the yeast has has bubbled up, add remaining ingredients.  Do not add the flour all at once.  Mix in enough to form a soft dough.  Knead until smooth and elastic, about 8 to 10 minutes.  Place in greased bowl, turning to grease top.   Cover; let rise in warm place, free from draft, until doubled in bulk, about 45 minutes.

Punch dough down; let rise again until less than doubled, about 20 minutes.  Divide dough in half; cut each halt into 10 equal pieces.  Form each piece into a smooth round ball.  Place on greased baking sheets about 2 inches apart; press to flatten.  Cover; let rise in warm place, free from draft, until doubled in size.

Bake at 375º for 15 to 20 minutes, or until done.  Remove from baking sheets and cool on wire racks.

3 responses

  1. do you use a bread machine when you make your dough? I bought some whole wheat flour the other day to try out. I asked a lady that knew how to make bread if she would mind showing me how and she said she could not until I got a bread machine. I looked for one at Wal-mart but could not find one there. Do you think I need one?

    1. Ann, I do not use a bread machine. You don’t need to have a bread machine to make bread dough. I would try a simple recipe at first. The biggest thing I found was to let my warm water (I test the temp using a meat thermometer), yeast, and sugar set for about 5 minutes or so. The yeast will bubble up, and then you add the remaining ingredients. Just add the flour about 1/2 cup at a time or so after the first couple of cups. You want to add your flour gradually at the end so that the dough is soft and elastic.

      ~Cheryl

  2. I found a whole wheat pretzel recipe that looked pretty easy I wanted to try. Thank you for your tips! I do have a meat thermometer so will use it. I am good at biscuit dough (knowing the feel of it) so surely I can figure this thing out 🙂 I am gonna try it today.

