No-Fry Doughnuts

I got this recipe from a friend.  She got it from the Taste of Home Winning Recipes.  I like the fact that I don’t have to use a bunch of oil to fry them.  They taste just as good, in our opinion.

2 packages yeast

1/4 cup warm water (110º to 115º)

1 1/2 cup warm milk (110º to 115º)

1/3 cup shortening

1/2 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

4 1/2 – 5 cups flour

1/4 cup butter, melted (I did not use)

Glaze:

1/2 cup butter

2 cups powdered sugar

5 teaspoons water

2 teaspoons vanilla

In a mixing bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water.  Add milk and shortening; stir for 1 minute.  Add the sugar, eggs, salt, nutmeg, cinnamon, and 2 cups of flour; beat on low speed until smooth.  Stir in enough remaining flour to form a soft dough.  Do not knead.

Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour.  Punch dough down.  Turn onto a floured surface; roll out 1/2 inch thickness.  Cut with a doughnut cutter; place two inches apart on greased baking sheets.  Brush with butter (if desired).  Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 30 minutes.

Bake at 350º for 20 minutes or until lightly browned.  Meanwhile, in a saucepan, melt butter; stir in powdered sugar, water, and vanilla.  Stir over low heat until smooth (do not boil).  Keep warm.  Dip warm doughnuts, one at a time, into glaze and turn to coat (I just dipped the top).  Drain on a wire rack.

5 responses

  1. I love this recipe. I’ve used it a lot and the doughnuts are better, IMO. Maybe it’s the icing????

  2. Looks SOOO good. I do not even own regular flour. Do you think I could sub. self-rising flour instead? I also don’t have a dough hook on my mixer thing so can one of those other hooks be used? It has some sort of twirly hook that came with it I think. I actually have never used the mixer but once and had it for several years. But will try because i would like to try these.

  3. These look great! I have been wanting a no-fry donut recipe. Thanks!

  4. I’m going to make these! Yum! Teresa

