Canned Potatoes

Canned Potatoes

When we dig up our potatoes we sort them before we put them in the root cellar.  We have three different buckets that we sort them into.  The ones that get cut when we dig them, or those that get broke go into one bucket.  Those are the ones that we use up first.  The small ones (the ones that we really don’t like to peel) go into another bucket.  The good potatoes go into the other bucket and then get dumped into the potato bin in the root cellar.

I use the small ones and can them whole.  I scrub the skins and then put them into the quart jars.  I put the potatoes in raw.  Some websites tell you to cook them first, but I don’t.  I add from 1/2 – 1 teaspoon of salt  to each quart.  Fill up with water leaving 1/2 inch head space.  Wipe the rims off and put the sterilized lids and rings on them.  Can in the pressure canner according to your elevation.  We live between 2,000 – 3,000 feet, so I can mine at 15 pounds of pressure for 20 minutes.

4 responses

  1. I still haven’t gotten a pressure canner…am itching to try to can veggies. Thank you for sharing all that you do!!!
    Abby

  2. Thank you for taking the time to find this for me.. I see what you mean .. But if they taste fine it saves from buying.. I thought I would use pint size jars.. I live in the mountain range I guess that would be high I don’t have any problems with anything baking… Have a great day…
    Thanks for your blessings sisterbrenda

    1. Holcombhappenings

      You are welcome. I hope that it makes since. We use a lot of the potatoes in our scrambled eggs on Saturday morning. We will slice them up and cook them with onions, bacon, peppers, and mushrooms. I then put the eggs in and cook them and add some cheese on top. It is so yummy!

      Have a great evening.

      ~Cheryl

  3. Oh yummy can I come for breakfast on Saturday I’ll do dishes…

