Texas Barbecue Sauce

I got this recipe from Crystal Miller’s website.  I have made adjustments for what I usually have on hand and what we like.  We really like this barbecue sauce.  Josie has been mixing this up the last several times.  She could probably eat this by the bowlfuls.  When we barbecue meat we put a bowl of this on the table as well as on the meat.  I would like to be able to can it, but I am not sure if I can or how long to do it. 

1 6 ounce can tomato paste

2 cups water

1/2 cup ketchup

1/3 cup apple cider vinegar

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 teaspoons dry mustard

2 teaspoons salt

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1 onion diced

1/2 teaspoon liquid smoke

Mix all ingredients in a small saucepan.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer 15 minutes.  Stir it occasionally to blend flavors.  This makes almost a quart of barbecue sauce.

One response

  1. Thank you for sharing this….will have to make it next time we bbq !!!!
    🙂
    Abby

