100% Whole Wheat bread

This is the wheat bread recipe that I have been using lately.

2 cups warm water (110º)

1 rounded tablespoon yeast (or package)

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup olive oil

2 teaspoons salt

2 Tablespoons vinegar

1 egg

5-6 cups whole wheat flour

I combine the water, yeast, and sugar and let set until it is bubbly.  Next add the oil, vinegar, and salt.  Add flour as needed.  I use my Kitchen Aid mixer and let it knead for 8 minutes.  I think this is the key to light 100% wheat bread.  It needs to be kneaded for a long time, I think 15 minutes or so by hand.  Let dough rise until doubled.  Punch down and shape into two loaf pans.  Let rise and then bake at 375 for 25-30 minutes, or until it is done.

I got this recipe from a couple of sites.  One uses gluten instead of vinegar.  The other used vinegar instead of gluten.  I can’t find the other blog now or I would link to it.

8 responses

  1. I’ve never used vinegar! I’ll have to try that. I have not noticed any better results with vital gluten…. my bread is usually really good and rises well, but we can always improve, right? 🙂 My recipe uses 1/3 cup honey and 1/4 cup butter, but I think I’m going to try this one. it sounds good! ~Michelle

    1. I think the vinegar makes it moister, and it doesn’t seem to dry out as quickly.

      ~Cheryl

  2. I’ve never heart of the vinegar, but I will give it a try on my next batch. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Thanks for posting this recipe. I’m going to give it a try! Sharon

  4. […] the house.  I ground some wheat and made 8 hamburger buns and a loaf of bread.  I just used my whole wheat bread recipe.  The buns turned out very good.  I also got some white beans and red beans cooking.  I […]

  5. […] math.  She ended up going to bed and slept for an hour or so.  I ground some wheat and made some bread for supper.  Emily and Josie helped me put together cabbage stew.  As we are running out of […]

  6. […] came in and started some bread.  RaeAnne had ground some wheat for me while we were gone.  I also made our bean and bacon […]

  7. […] I fixed banana muffins for breakfast.  Josie ground me some more wheat so that I could make some bread for sandwiches for lunch.  I got the bread mixed up and set that to rise in the oven while we ate […]

