Cinnamon Rolls

I got this recipe from our Church camp cook book.  I like the fact that you don’t have to let the dough rise before you form the rolls.  I have cut the oil and sugar down in the dough.  I also use all water instead of water and milk.

Cinnamon rolls

1 package yeast

1 1/4 cup warm water

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup oil

1 egg, beaten

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 1/2 cups flour

melted butter

brown sugar

cinnamon

white sugar

Dissolve yeast in water with sugar.  Let set for 10 minutes to make sure it proofs.  Add the oil, egg, salt, and enough flour to make a soft dough.  Knead and then roll out into a rectangle.  Top with the melted butter, cinnamon, brown sugar, and white sugar.  You can add nuts if desired.  Roll up and cut into rolls.  I have used dental floss and my dough cutter to cut the rolls.  Place in greased pan.  Cover and let rise until double.  Bake at 400º for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown.  Do not overbake.  While warm, frost with thin icing if desired.

2 responses

  1. Just wondering what type of flour you use (brand) and I also use dental floss to cut my dough.. Blessings sisterbrenda Thanks for sharing.

    1. I no longer have white flour in the house. I grind my own wheat. The last few times I have used my Hard White Wheat. I do add 1 Tablespoon of vinegar per cup of water when I use 100% whole wheat. I hope that helps.

      ~Cheryl

