Farm-style Oatmeal Cookies

I got this recipe from the Betty Crocker’s American Country Cooking cook book.  I have cut the sugar down by 1/2 cup.

1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
1 cup butter
1/2 cup buttermilk (can use regular milk)
1 teaspoon vanilla
4 cups quick-cooking oats
1 3/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt

Heat oven to 375º.  Mix brown sugar, butter, buttermilk, and vanilla in bowl.  Stir in remaining ingredients.  Shape dough into 1 inch balls.  Place about 3 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.  Flatten cookies with bottom of glass dipped in water.  Bake until golden brown, 8 to 10 minutes.  Immediately remove from cookie sheet.

I have added macadamia nuts and dried cran strawberries to this recipe.  The kids really enjoy them.

3 responses

  1. I just want to make sure this is right you cut out 1/2 cup of sugar? I think I’ll add it on.. I think I might add some raisen? what do you think?

    1. Holcombhappenings

      I did cut 1/2 cup of sugar out, so what I have on the recipe is what I used. The original recipe was for 2 cups of brown sugar. The raisins would be good in them. I put chocolate chips in the ones I made for today. We really like the cran-strawberries that I get at our grocery store.

      ~Cheryl

  2. Hi Just made them I decided to add choc chips .. They look and smell great..Wish my camera was working.. Thanks again.. Many blessigns..

