Dill Pickles

I got this recipe from the Better Homes and Garden cook book.  This is what my family likes.  The last few years I have grown dill, let it dry, and then bag it in a brown paper sack to use the following year.

For each quart:

1/2 pound 4-inch pickling cucumbers (5 or 6 cucumbers)
4 heads fresh dill or 2 Tablespoons dillseed
1 teaspoon mustard seed
1 3/4 cup water
3/4 cup cider vinegar
1 Tablespoon pickling salt

Thoroughly rinse cucumbers; remove stems.  Pack cucumbers loosely into hot, clean quart jar(s), leaving a 1/2 inch headspace.  Add dill and mustard seed to each quart.  Make a brine by combining water, vinegar, and salt.  Bring to boiling.

Slowly pour hot brine over cucumbers, leaving a 1/2 inch head space.  Wipe jar rim; adjust lid.  Process in boiling water bath for 15 minutes for quarts (start timing when water boils.)  Let pickles stand at least one week before opening.

The only thing I do different is add pickling crisp (made by Ball).  Follow directions on box.  This makes the pickles crispy.

2 responses

  1. Thank you Cheryl! I am anxious to try it!

    Jennifer

  2. Cheryl when you make your brine do you make only one at a time, as I see your recipe calls for each quart. I am wanting to fill all my jars at once and wonder how much brini would use for 6 quarts?

