Hungry Boy Cookies

This recipe was given to my parents by my mom’s brother-in-laws family.  I found out some history on these cookies recently when my Uncle sent me an email.  Here is a quote that he sent to me.

“The recipe was secret only to my Grandmother until she died…then we found it in her cookbook…in fact it was written in pencil along the side…I really don’t know where it came from…maybe from her head…I don’t know for sure…we have shared the recipe with many over the years…so it is no secret any more”

We always enjoyed these cookies.  They are just as good frosted as left plain.  I have also added another frosting recipe that my aunt uses in making their cookies.  {print recipe}

1 1/2 cups sugar
1 cup shortening
2 eggs
1/2 cup molasses
1 cup strong coffee
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon
2 teaspoons allspice
1/2 teaspoon cloves
4 cups flour
3 cups flour, for rolling out

Cream sugar and shortening.  Add eggs, beating well after each.  Add molasses.  Measure 4 cups of flour and other dry ingredients into sifter.  Add to creamed mixture alternately with coffee.  Use part of remaining 3 cups of flour when rolling cookies to about 1/4 inch thickness.  Use a cookie cutter to cut cookies out.  Place on ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 325º for 10-12 minutes.

Frost with a butter cream frosting if desired.

2 cups powdered sugar
3 Tablespoons butter
1/4 cup cream

Refrigerator Frosting   ( came from Tupperware)

4 eggs whites

1 cup Crisco (not oil)

½ cup evaporated milk

½ tea cream of tarter

1 tea real vanilla

3#’s powered sugar

Beat on low. Turn on high and beat till real smooth.  The longer you beat it the better it is.  It will keep in refrigerator for 7-9 months.

One response

  1. I will be trying these. sounds so good. Thanks for the recipe!

