Cinnamon Coffee Puffs

I got this recipe from Taste of Home magazine.  These remind me of some fresh homemade cake doughnuts, without the oil.  I also changed the topping.  The recipe called for dipping them in butter and then sprinkling the tops with cinnamon and sugar.  They were to buttery for me, so I put the cinnamon and sugar on the muffin before they bake.

Cinnamon Coffee Puffs

1/3 cup butter softened
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
1/2 cup milk
1 1/2 cups flour
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

Combine the butter and sugar and then add the egg.  Combine the dry ingredients in a sifter.  Alternately add the milk and dry ingredients.  Pour into muffin pans and sprinkle with a cinnamon and sugar mixture.  Bake at 350º for 15 – 20 minutes.

