Granola

I got this recipe from The Family Homestead and then made some changes to it.  I have listed the changes I made to it below.

Granola

12 cups uncooked quick oats
1 cup shredded coconut
1 cup whole wheat flour (our mill grinds it real fine)
1/2 cup powdered milk
1 Tbsp cinnamon
1 cup olive oil
1 cup brown sugar or honey
1 Tbsp vanilla
1 cup sliced almonds

I use my big bread bowl to mix this up in.  Combine the oats, coconut, flour, powdered milk, cinnamon, and almonds in the bowl and mix well.  In a sauce pan, heat the oil, applesauce, vanilla, and brown sugar or honey until warm.  Pour over the oat mixture and stir until everything is coated.  Spread into thin layers on 3 or 4 cookie sheets.  I use three 10 x 15 inch cookie sheets.  Bake at 300º until the granola browns.  I put it back into the clean bowl to cool down, and then store it in a container.

One response

  1. TwoLittleBlessings

    Okay, this is something I have been noticing lately. Recipies for granola. I may just have to try to make it. So good in many different ways. *smile* Thank you for sharing your recipies with us. *smile* Blessings.-me-(Mommy of two little blessings)

